Laura Shutkever – A poem by a blind man

A poem by a blind man

The darkness it protects me like a friend no-one wants to know
until there is no-one else around I know that the days are warm
and crickets enjoy the night and the smell of my wife’s cooking strokes
my Nostrils when I wake from my nightly pause Her face is smooth
and feels like the silk dressing gown she wears when I ask
Music is a gift without which my cave would be barer than now and
my Ears tells me a saxophone looks beautiful Who knows if a better
existence will await when my time comes to stop hearing the world
when that time comes and see the beauty I have heard about
                                    from my Ears

1 Comment

  1. Pablo Senarta

    A lovely poem, top notch.

Leave a Reply

