Richard Jones – The Last Shift

The Last Shift

As the dawn approaches
My mind is at ease
For I am a person
Who is easily pleased

The colliery I’ve just left
Behind in the mist
The camaraderie and spirit
Will surely be missed

For five and twenty years
This path I have taken
And no more shall I see
The old colliery awaken

The dampness of the dawn
And the cold morning air
The sun rise on the mountain
With its warmth and its glare

When the coal dust has settled
And when I’m walking alone
I’ll remember those mornings
When I made my way home

1 Comment

  1. Very moving, really enjoyed that.

Leave a Reply

